Southwest Governors Plan 25-year Development Master Plan

The Southwest Governors’ Forum, under the aegis of the Development Agenda for Western Nigeria (DAWN) Commission, met in Abeokuta, Ogun State and unanimously agreed to develop a 25-year Western Nigeria Development Master Plan.

In an 11-point communiqué issued after the meeting, the forum also agreed to have a Joint Task Force to guarantee the safety of lives, property and prosperity of the people of the the region, while also declaring the region a zero tolerance zone to crime.

The governors, in the communiqué read by the host Governor, Senator Ibikunle Amosun, further agreed that the artificial boundaries of states, religions and political affiliation will not act as barrier to the regional development, adding that all the states have been encouraged to improve bilateral cooperation and foster development.

Speaking on food security, they said a regional Agricultural Summit will be held in Ibadan towards improved food security in the region.

The forum revealed that it would set up a committee to codify the values and ethos of the Yoruba race, in order to strengthen the identity and unity of the people of the region.
It was also decided that the forum would henceforth be known as the Western Nigeria Governors’ Forum.

In attendance with Amosun were Governors Ayodele Fayose (Ekiti State), Akinwunmi Ambode (Lagos State) Rauf Aregbesola (Osun State), Rotimi Akeredolu (Ondo State) and Senator Abiola Ajimobi of Oyo State.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *